Gemini Committees: Membership and Meeting Documents

Federal University of Rio Grande do SulGovernance Committees

Advisory Committees

Committee Meeting Schedule


Governance Documents

The Gemini International Agreement for the operation of the Gemini Observatory, 2022 - 2027

The Gemini International Agreement for the operation of the Gemini Observatory, 2016–2021

Operational Guidelines: Observatory strategy during the 2016-2021 International Agreement.

For the years beyond 2021, the Observatory is currently developing both a Strategic Vision and a Strategic Plan. The charge to the Strategic Vision Committee was approved in Board resolution 2015.B.10.

Beyond 2021: A Strategic Vision for the Gemini Observatory

Historical Documents

Introductory material for Gemini Governance committee members

______________________________________________________________________________________

Committee Meeting Schedule

February 8, 2022 Operations Working Group Zoom  
May 9 -11, 2022 NOIRLab Management Oversight Council  Washington, DC  
May 23-24, 2022 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Zoom  
May 23, 25-27, 2022 Gemini Board  Hilo, HI (hybrid)  
August 17, 2022 Operations Working Group Zoom  
November 14-15, 2022 Science and Technology Advisory Committee La Serena, Chile  
November 14, 16-18, 2022 Gemini Board La Serena, Chile  
* The Gemini contact person responsible for Gemini meeting logistics deals with coordinating local meeting room and office space, network support, local transport and support with accommodation and other related events.

 


Gemini Board

The Gemini Board sets budgetary policy bounds for the Observatory and carries out broad oversight functions as defined in the inter-agency Agreement. The Gemini Board has reserved the right to approve the appointments of the Gemini Director and Associate Directors for Gemini North and South.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Support

Board Members

Dr. Steve Howell (Chair)
NASA Ames Research Center, Space Science and Astrobiology Division
Phone: 650-694-4238 | Email: steve.b.howell@nasa.gov

Dr. Narae Hwang (Deputy Chair)
Center for Large Telescopes (CfLAT), Korea Astronomy & Space Science Institute (KASI)
Phone: 82-42-869-5822 | Email: nhwang@kasi.re.kr

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (Executive Secretary)
National Science Foundation, Division of Astronomical Sciences
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Federica Bianco
University of Delaware, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Phone: 302-831-1521 | Email: fbianco@udel.edu

Dr. Guillermo Bosch
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54-2214236593 | Email: guille@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Bruno Castilho
Laboratorio Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-36298123 | Email: bruno@lna.br

Prof. Edgardo Costa
Departamento de Astronomía, Universidad de Chile
Phone: 56-2-2977-1116 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Vandana Desai
Caltech/IPAC
Phone: 626-395-6254  | Email: desai@ipac.caltech.edu

Dr. Sarah Gallagher

University of Western Ontario, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: 519-661-2111 x86707 | Email: sgalla4@uwo.ca 

Dr. Andrew Howell
UC Santa Barbara & Las Cumbres Observatory, Department of Physics
Phone: 805-893-5670 | Email: ahowell@lcogt.net

Dr. Karen Meech
University of Hawai`i, Manoa Institute for Astrophysics
Phone: 808-956-6828  | Email: meech@hawaii.edu

Dr. Rebecca Oppenheimer
American Museum of Natural History, Department of Astrophysics
Email: roppenheimer@amnh.org

Dr. Claudia Scarlata
School of Physics & Astronomy, University of Minnesota
Phone: 612-626-1811 | Email: mscarlat@umn.edu

Dr. Luc Simard
National Research Council Canada, Herzberg Astronomy & Astrophysics

Phone: 250-217-8973 | Email: Luc.Simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Martin Still
National Science Foundation, Division of Astronomical Sciences
Phone: 703-292-4920 | Email: mstill@nsf.gov


Gemini Finance Committee

The Gemini Finance Committee is comprised of financial authorities from the various partner countries. The GFC advises the Gemini Board on financial, budget and long range plan issues for the Gemini Observatory.

Gemini Finance Committee Terms of Reference

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Dr. Martin Still (Chair)
National Science Foundation, Division of Astronomical Sciences
Phone: 703-292-4290 | Email: mstill@nsf.gov

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (Executive Secretary)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Guillermo Bosch
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54-2214236593 | Email: guille@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Wagner Corradi
Laboratorio Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 31-9 8868 4502 | Email: wbcorradi@lna.br

Dr. Narae Hwang
Center for Large Telescopes (CfLAT), Korea Astronomy & Space Science Institute (KASI)
Phone: 82-42-869-5822 | Email: nhwang@kasi.re.kr

Dr. Luc Simard
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-8315 | Email: Luc.Simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca


Gemini Science and Technology Advisory Committee

The Science and Technology Advisory Committee advises the Gemini Board on policy matters of long-range scientific and technical importance.

Terms of reference and related documents

For related information prior to November 2011, please see the Gemini Science Committee meeting reports and documents.

STAC Points of Contact:

  • ALTAIR: Jennifer Patience
  • DRAGONS: Gelys Trancho, Damián Mast
  • F2: Maria Drout
  • GeMS: Gelys Trancho
  • GHOST: Henri Plana
  • GIRMOS: Ivana Damjanov
  • GMOS: Marcelo Mora
  • GNAO: Gelys Trancho
  • GNIRS: Damián Mast
  • GRACES: Ashley Villar
  • GPI-2: Mark Chun
  • IGRINS2: Jae-Joon Lee
  • Instrument Upgrade Program: Damián Mast
  • NIRI: Ryan Chornock
  • ToOs & AEON: Craig Heinke, Ryan Chornock, Ashley Villar
  • SCORPIO: Ryan Foley
  • Visiting Instruments: Chair
  • Default for other issues: Chair 

Meetings (Password Protected)

Dr. Craig Heinke (Chair)
University of Alberta
Phone: 780-222-4815 | Email: heinke@ualberta.ca

Dr. Henri Plana (Deputy Chair)
Universidade Estadual de Santa Cruz
Phone: +55 73 3680 5167| Email: plana@uesc.br 

Dr. Ryan Chornock
University of California, Berkeley
Phone: 510-207-7387 | Email: chornock@berkeley.edu

Dr. Mark Chun
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: 808-932-2317 | Email: markchun@hawaii.edu 

Dr. Ivana Damjanov
St. Mary’s University, Halifax, Canada
Email: Ivana.Damjanov@smu.ca

Dr. Maria Drout
University of Toronto
Phone: 647-606-8194 | Email: maria.drout@utoronto.ca

Dr. Ryan J. Foley
University of California Santa Cruz
Phone: 831 459 2835| Email: foley@ucsc.edu

Dr. Jeyhan Kartaltepe
Rochester Institute of Technology
Phone: 585-475-7514 | Email: jsksps@rit.edu

Dr. Jae-Joon Lee
Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Phone: 82-42-865-2073 | Email: leejjoon@kasi.re.kr

Dr. Damián Mast
Astronomical Observatory of Córdoba
Phone: 54-351-4331064/5 int 110 | Email: damian@oac.unc.edu.ar

Dr. Marcelo Mora
Programa de Astronomía/ANID, P. Universidad Católica
Phone: 56 2 2365 46 31| Email: mmora@astro.puc.cl

Dr. Jennifer Patience
Arizona State University
Phone: 855-278-5080 | Email: jpatienc@asu.edu

Dr. Gelys Trancho
TMT International Observatory LLC
Phone: 626-395-1607 | Email: gtrancho@tmt.org

Dr. V. Ashley Villar
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-1937  | Email: vav5084@psu.edu

______________________________________________________________________________________

NSF Program Officer

Dr. Martin Still
National Science Foudation, Division of Astronomical Sciences
Phone: 703-292-4290 | Email: mstill@nsf.gov


NCOA Management Oversight Council

The NMOC provides stewardship and management oversight of NOAO, Gemini and LSST operations and oversight of the NCOA Transition project. The NMOC replaced the AURA Oversight Council-Gemini in the fall of 2018.

Charter and membership list


Operations Working Group

The OWG advises the Gemini Director on the use and scheduling of the Gemini Telescopes, and on matters related to the support of users and to the interface between the national communities and the Observatory.

Meetings

As of February 2011, Operations Working Group meetings and agendas may be found on the OpsWiki.

Resolutions/Reports

As of February 2010, only resolutions/recommendations will be posted.

Dr. Joanna Thomas-Osip (Chair)
Gemini Observatory / NSF's NOIRLab
Phone: 56-51-2205687 | Email: joanna.thomas@noirlab.edu

Dr. Gabriel Ferrero
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
Phone: 54-221-4236593 | Email: gferrero@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Prof. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía - Chile
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: +56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Stéphanie Côté - Canada
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0026 | Email: Stephanie.Cote@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Jacqueline Keane - United States
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: (808) 956-6880 | Email:jvkeane@hawaii.edu

Dr. Eder Martioli - Brazil
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: (+55)-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Ji Yeon Seok
Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Phone: +82-42-869-5823 | Email: jyseok@kasi.re.kr

Dr. Letizia Stanghellini - United States
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 502-318-8205 | Email: letizia.stanghellini@noirlab.edu


Users' Committee for Gemini Observatory (UCG)

To provide feedback to the Gemini Observatory on all areas of its operations that affect current users of the facility, based on the experience of the committee members as well as input collected from the larger community of Gemini users. The Observatory will use this information to improve the service it provides to users.

Charter

Meetings (password required)

Jonelle Walsh (Chair)
Texas A&M University
walsh@physics.tamu.edu

Lindsey Bleem (US)
Argonne National Laboratory
lbleem@anl.gov

Jennifer Burt
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
jennifer.burt@jpl.nasa.gov

Dr. Scott Chapman (CA)
Dalhousie University
scott.chapman@dal.ca

Jonathan Gagné (CA)
Université de Montréal
jonathan.gagne@astro.umontreal.ca

Thiago Signori Gonçalves (BR)
Observatorio do Valongo, UFRJ
tsg@astro.ufrj.br

Maria Celeste Parisi (AR)
Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba, Universidad Nacional de Cordoba
celeste@oac.unc.edu.ar

Thomas Puzia (CL)
Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile
tpuzia@astro.puc.cl

Victoria Reynaldi (AR) ~ starting in 2023
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Buenos Aires
victoria.reynaldi@gmail.com

Ana Chies Santos (BR) starting in 2023
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS)
ana.chies@ufrgs.br

Young Sun Lee (KR)
Chungnam National University, Department of Astronomy & Space Science
youngsun@cnu.ac.kr 

Matthew Taylor (CA) ~ starting in 2023
University of Calgary
matthew.taylor2@ucalgary.ca

David Trilling (US)
Northern Arizona University
David.Trilling@nau.edu

Jonathan Williams (UH)
University of Hawaii, Manoa
jw@hawaii.edu

Letizia Stanghellini (ex-officio)
US NGO
letizia.stanghellini@noirlab.edu

Joanna Thomas-Osip (Gemini Coordinator)
joanna.thomas@noirlab.edu


International Time Allocation Committee

The International Time Allocation Committee consists of representatives from the national time allocation committees, as well as the Observatory itself. The ITAC is chaired by a Gemini senior-level scientist. The recommendations of the ITAC are advisory to the Gemini Director. The ITAC meets twice a year to consider joint and conflicting proposals identified in the merging process, and to recommend the programs for execution in queue and classical modes.

Dr. Sandy Leggett (Chair)
Gemini Observatory / NSF's NOIRLab
Phone: 808-974-2500 | Email: sandy.leggett@noirlab.edu

Ms. Brittney Cooper (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory / NSF's NOIRLab
Phone: 808-974-2500 | Email:brittney.cooper@noirlab.edu

Dr. Alberto Rodriguez Ardila
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629 8119 | Email: aardila@lna.br

Prof. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía, ANID
Phone: 56-2-229-4101 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Stéphanie Côté
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0026 | Email: Stephanie.Cote@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Gabriel Ferrero
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
| Email: ferrero.gabriel@gmail.com

Dr. Jacqueline Keane
University of Hawai`i, Institute for Astronomy
Phone: (808) 956-6880 | Email: jvkeane@hawaii.edu

Dr. Jae-Joon Lee
Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
| Email: lee.j.joon@gmail.com

Dr. Verne Smith
CSDC - NSF’s NOIRLab 
Phone: 520-318-8453 | Email: verne.smith@noirlab.edu

______________________________________________________________________________________

Large Programs Time Allocation Committee

The Large and Long Program Time Allocation Committee (LPTAC) is responsible for the scientific assessment and ranking of Gemini Large and Long Program (LLP) proposals.  The LPTAC consists of representatives from LLP participating partners, currently the United States, Canada, and Argentina, plus ad-hoc members as may be required for additional scientific expertise. The LPTAC meets once per year, typically in Late April.  

Verne Smith (Chair)
CSDC - NSF’s OIR Lab
verne.smith@noirlab.edu


Gemini Observatory Participants

Sitemap | Website Chilean Mirror