You are here

Around the World in 80 Telescopes

, Updated

Full Resolution MOV | 35.21MB

En Español | 13.3MB

Contacts:

  • Peter Michaud
    Gemini Observatory, Hilo HI, USA
    (808) 974-2510 (desk)
    (808) 937-0845 (cell)
    pmichaud@gemini.edu
    www.gemini.edu

On the nights of April 2-3 (3-4 UT) both Gemini telescopes participated in the “Around the World in 80 Telescopes” live, around the world control room webcast. Gemini was honored to be the first control room visit for the event when at 11:00 pm (HST) on April 2nd (9:00 am UT on April 3rd) Gemini presented a new video introduction to Gemini followed by a live visit to the Gemini North control room on Hawaii’s Mauna Kea hosted by Gemini’s Scott Fisher. Nineteen hours later, Gemini South participated in the event at Midnight (Chile time) on the night of April 3-4 (4:00 am UT on April 4th) when Gemini South astronomer Etienne Artigau hosted a visit to the Gemini South control room in Chile.

During each event a pair of new images were released which (along with the new “Introduction to the Gemini Observatory” video) can be seen and downloaded by clicking on the images at right.

For more information on this event and to see the archived video of the webcast see: 100HA website: http://www.100hoursofastronomy.org/

News Archive Filter

The GEMMA Podcast

A podcast about Gemini Observatory and its role in the Era of Multi-Messenger Astronomy. Featuring news related to multi-messenger astronomy (MMA), time-domain astronomy (TDA), our visiting instrument program, and more through interviews with astronomers, engineers, and staff both here at Gemini (North and South) and abroad.

Listen Now