Governance Oversight, Governance Documents

Governance Oversight

Gemini Committees and Membership

Committee Meeting Schedule


Governance Documents

The Gemini Agreement between the Partners and the Parties of the Gemini consortium. The document covers construction, commissioning and operations of the Gemini Telescopes. This version is a "combined" version that merges the three amendments with the original agrement. The signed versions of The Gemini Agreement and of the amendments are available from the National Science Foundation.

The Fourth Amendment became effective January 1, 2013

Historical Documents


Gemini Board

The Gemini Board sets budgetary policy bounds for the Observatory and carries out broad oversight functions as defined in the inter-agency Agreement. The Gemini Board has reserved the right to approve the appointments of the Gemini Director and Associate Directors for Gemini North and South.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Resolutions

Support

Dr. Michael Balogh (Chair)
University of Waterloo, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Phone: 519-888-4567, Ext. 37518 | Email: mbalogh@uwaterloo.ca

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (Executive Secretary)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Roberto Abraham
University of Toronto, Department of Astronomy
Phone: 416-946-7289 | Email: abraham@astro.utoronto.ca

Dr. Edo Berger
Harvard University, Department of Astonomy
Phone: 617-495-7914 | Email: eberger@cfa.harvard.edu

Dr. Greg Fahlman
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0040 | Email: greg.fahlman@nrc.gc.ca

Dr. Mercedes Gomez
Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba
Phone: 54-351-433-063/64/65 ext. 114 | Email: mercedes@mail.oac.uncor.edu

Prof. Daniel Jaffe
Department of Astronomy, University of Texas-Austin
Phone: 512-471-3302 | Email: dtj@astro.as.utexas.edu

Prof. Robert McLaren
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawai`i
Phone: 808-956-8768 | Email: mclaren@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Imke de Pater
University of California at Berkeley, Astronomy Department
Phone: 510-642-1947 | Email: imke@astro.berkeley.edu

Dr. Monica Rubio
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Chile
Phone: +56-2-977-1111 | Email: mrubio@das.uchile.cl

Dr. David Silva
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 520-318-8281 | Email: dsilva@noao.edu

Dr. Laerte Sodre
Departamento de Astronomia do IAG/USP, Universidade de Sao Paulo
Phone: 55-51-3091-2704 | Email: laerte@astro.iag.usp.br

Dr. James Ulvestad
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-7165 | E-mail: julvesta@nsf.gov

Dr. Sylvain Veilleux
University of Maryland, Department of Astonomy
Phone: 301-405-0282 | E-mail: veilleux@astro.umd.edu

Prof. Stuart Wyithe
Astronomy Australia Ltd.
Phone: 61-3-9214-8036 | Email: stuart.wyithe@astronomyaustralia.org.au


Gemini Finance Committee

The Gemini Finance Committee is comprised of financial authorities from the various partner countries. The GFC advises the Gemini Board on financial, budget and long range plan issues for the Gemini Observatory.

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Dr. James Ulvestad (Chair)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-7165 | E-mail: julvesta@nsf.gov

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (ex-officio)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Bruno Castillo
Laboratorio Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8123 | Email: bruno@lna.br

Dr. Greg Fahlman
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0040 | Email: greg.fahlman@nrc.ca

Dr. Mercedes Gomez
Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba
Phone: 54-351-433-063/64/65 ext. 114 | Email: mercedes@mail.oac.uncor.edu

Prof. Stuart Wyithe
Astronomy Australia Ltd.
Phone: 61-3-9214-8036 | Email: stuart.wyithe@astronomyaustralia.org.au


Gemini Science and Technology Advisory Committee

The Science and Technology Advisory Committee advises the Gemini Board on policy matters of long-range scientific and technical importance.

Terms of reference and related documents

For related information prior to November 2011, please see the Gemini Science Committee meeting reports and documents.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Reports

Dr. Henry G. Roe (Chair)
Lowell Observatory
Phone: 1-928-233-3218 | Email: hroe@lowell.edu

Dr. Fabio Bresolin
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: 1-808-956-8306 | Email: bresolin@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Lydia Cidale
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54 221 423 6593 | Email: lydia@fcaglp.fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Tim Davidge
Dominion Astrophysical Observatory
The Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0001 | Email: tim.davidge@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Prof. Debra Fischer
Department of Astronomy, Yale University
Phone: 203-432-1613 | Email: debra.fischer@yale.edu

Dr. Donald Gavel
Lick Observatory, University of California, Santa Cruz
Phone: 831-459-5464| Email: gavel@ucolick.org

Dr. Karl Glazebrook
Swinburne University of Technology. Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing
Phone: 61-3-9214-4384 | Email: kglazebrook@swin.edu.au

Dr. Paulina Lira
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Chile
Phone: 56-2-977-1138 | Email: plira@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Kevin Luhman
Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Penn State University
Phone: 814 863 4957 | Email: kluhman@astro.psu.edu

Dr. Paul Martini
Department of Astronomy, Ohio State University
Phone: 614 292 8632 | Email: martini@astronomy.ohio-state.edu

Dr. Thomas Matheson
NOAO
Phone: 520-318-8517 | Email: Matheson@noao.edu

Dr. Nathan Smith
University of Arizona, Steward Observatory
Phone: 520-626-5992 | Email: nathans@as.arizona.edu

Prof. Alan Stockton
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: 1-808-956-7995 | Email: stockton@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Thaisa Storchi-Bergmann
Instituto de Fisica - UFRGS
Phone: 55 51 3308 6443 | E-mail: thaisa@ufrgs.br

Dr. Kim Venn
Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Victoria
Phone: (250) 472-5182| Email: kvenn@uvic.ca


AURA Oversight Council - Gemini

AURA Oversight Council-Gemini provides oversight and advocacy for the management of the Gemini Observatory.

*AOC-G Documents for Review (*password required)

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Prof. Richard Green (Chair)
Large Binocular Telescope Observatory
Phone: 520-626-7088 | Email: rgreen@as.arizona.edu

Prof. Beatriz Barbuy
Instituto de Astronomia, Geofisica e Ciencias Atmosfericas
Universidade de São Paulo
Phone: 55-11-3091-2810 | Email: barbuy@astro.iag.usp.br

Dr. Erica Ellingson
Center for Astrophysics and Space Astronomy
University of Colorado
Phone: 303-492-6610 | Email: Erica.Ellingson@colorado.edu

Dr. Jim Fanson
Kepler Project, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Phone: 818-354-7014 | Email: james.I.fanson@jpl.nasa.gov

Dr. Douglas Geisler
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Concepcion
Phone: 56-41-2203092 | Email: dgeisler@astroudec.cl

Dr. Mario Mateo
Department of Astronomy, University of Michigan
Phone: 734-936-1742 | Email: mmateo@umich.edu

Mr. Mark McAuley
Astronomy Australia Ltd.
Phone: 61-3-9214-8036 | Email: mark.mcauley@astronomyaustralia.org.au

Dr. Brian Schmidt
Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Mount Stromlo Observatory
Phone: 61-2-6125- 8042 | Email: brian@mso.anu.edu.au

Dr. William Smith (ex officio)
Association of Universities for Reasearch in Astronomy
Phone: 202-483-2101 | Email: wsmith@aura-astronomy.org

Dr. Mark Voit
Astronomy and Astrophysics, Michigan State University
Phone: 517-884-5619 | Email: voit@pa.msu.edu


Operations Working Group

The OWG advises the Gemini Director on the use and scheduling of the Gemini Telescopes, and on matters related to the support of users and to the interface between the national communities and the Observatory.

Meetings

As of February 2011, Operations Working Group meetings and agendas may be found on the OpsWiki at http://opswiki.wikis.gemini.edu/index.php/Operations_Working_Group

Resolutions/Reports

As of February 2010, only resolutions will be posted.

Dr. Stuart Ryder (Chair) - Australia
Australian Astronomical Observatory
Phone: 61-2-9372-4843 | Email: ausgo@aao.gov.au

Dr. Sergio A. Cellone - Argentina
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
Phone: 54-221-4236593 (ext: 157-39) | Email: scellone@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía - Chile
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: +56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Tim Davidge - Canada
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0047 | Email: Timothy.Davidge@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Roy Gal - United States
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: (808) 956-6235 | Email:rgal@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Eder Martioli - Brazil
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: (+55)-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Letizia Stanghellini - United States
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 502-318-8205 | Email: lstanghellini@noao.edu


Users' Committee for Gemini Observatory (UCG)

To provide feedback to the Gemini Observatory on all areas of its operations that affect current users of the facility, based on the experience of the committee members as well as input collected from the larger community of Gemini users. The Observatory will use this information to improve the service it provides to users.

Charter

Meetings & Reports

Mike Gladders (US) Chair
University of Chicago
gladders@oddjob.uchicago.edu

Vicky Alonso (AR)
Observatorio Astronómico de Córdoba
m.v.alonso@gmail.com

Mark Ammons (US)
Lawrence Livermore National Labs
ammons1@llnl.gov

Pauline Barmby (CA)
Univ. Western Ontario
pbarmby@uwo.ca

Sarah Brough (AU)
Australian Astronomical Observatory
sb@aao.gov.au

Eduardo Cypriano (BR)
Universidade de São Paulo
cypriano@astro.iag.usp.br

Craig Heinke (CA)
University of Alberta
heinke@ualberta.ca

Mansi Kasliwal (US)
Carnegie Observatories
mansi@obs.carnegiescience.edu

Bo Reipurth (UH)
University of Hawaii
reipurth@ifa.hawaii.edu

Armin Rest (US)
Space Telescope Science Institute
arest@stsci.edu

Tom Richtler (CL)
Universidad de Concepción
tom@astro-udec.cl

Stuart Ryder (ex officio)
Gemini Operations Working Group Chair
ausgo@aao.gov.au


International Time Allocation Committee

The International Time Allocation Committee consists of representatives from the national time allocation committees, as well as the Observatory itself. The ITAC is chaired by a Gemini senior-level scientist. The recommendations of the ITAC are advisory to the Gemini Director. The ITAC meets twice a year to consider joint and conflicting proposals identified in the merging process, and to recommend the programs for execution in queue and classical modes.

Dr. Steve Margheim (Chair)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205694 | Email: smargheim@gemini.edu

Dr. Joanna Thomas-Osip (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205687 | Email: jthomas@gemini.edu

Dr. John Blakeslee
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0047 | Email: john.blakeslee@nrc.ca

Dr. Sergio Cellone
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
Phone: 54-221-4236593 (ext: 157-39) | Email: scellone@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: 56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Tom Geballe
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 808-974-2519 | Email: tgeballe@gemini.edu

Dr. Eder Martioli
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Aaron Robotham
International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research
Phone: 61-08 6488 5564 | E-mail: aaron.robotham@uwa.edu.au

Dr. Letizia Stanghellini
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 520-318-8205 | Email: letizia@noao.edu

Dr. Richard Wainscoat
University of Hawai`i, Institute for Astronomy
Phone: 808-956-8429 | Email: rjw@ifa.hawaii.edu


Gemini Staff Time Allocation Committee

The Gemini Staff TAC consist of four external members (including the Chair) and three Gemini staff members. The Gemini Staff TAC assesses the Gemini staff proposals and makes a recommendation to the Gemini Director.

Dr. Louis Strolger (Chair)
Western Kentucky University
Phone: 270-745-6204 | Email: louis.strolger@wku.edu

Lucas Fuhrman (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory
Phone:808-974-2613 | Email: lfuhrman@gemini.edu

Joy Chavez (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 808-974-2580 | Email: jchavez@gemini.edu

Dr. Michael Cushing
University of Toledo
419-530-2637 | Email: michael.cushing@utoledo.edu

Dr. Tom Geballe
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 808-974-2519 | Email: tgeballe@gemini.edu

Dr. Pascale Hibon
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-205680 | Email: phibon@gemini.edu

Dr. Eduardo Telles
Observatorio Nacional
Phone: 55 21 35049190 | Email: etelles@on.br

Dr. Diane Wooden
NASA/Ames Research Center
Phone: 650-604-5522 | Email: wooden@delphinus.arc.nasa.gov


Visiting Committee and NSF Reviews

Reports

Meetings (password required)


NSF Proposals

Proposals/Reports (password required)


Gemini Adaptive Optics Science Working Group

Meetings (password required)


Committee Meeting Schedule

Date Committee Location Committee Logistics Contact (Gemini)*
February 19 - 20, 2014 Operations Working Group Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 8-9, 2014 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Meeting Tucson, AZ Hosted by NOAO
May 12-13, 2014 AURA Oversight Council-Gemini Dallas, Texas  
May 13, 2014 Gemini Finance Committee Dallas, Texas  
May 14-16, 2014 Gemini Board Dallas, Texas  
October 29-30, 2014 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Meeting Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
November 3-4, 2014 AURA Oversight Council-Gemini Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
November 4, 2014 Gemini Finance Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry 1-808-974-2524
November 5-7, 2014 Gemini Board Hilo, Hawaii Terry 1-808-974-2524
* The Gemini contact person responsible for Gemini meeting logistics deals with coordinating local meeting room and office space, network support, local transport and support with accomodation and other related events.

Gemini Observatory Partners

Sitemap | Website Chilean Mirror