Governance Oversight, Governance Documents

Governance Oversight

Gemini Committees and Membership

Committee Meeting Schedule


Governance Documents

The Gemini Agreement between the Partners and the Parties of the Gemini consortium. The document covers construction, commissioning and operations of the Gemini Telescopes. This version is a "combined" version that merges the three amendments with the original agrement. The signed versions of The Gemini Agreement and of the amendments are available from the National Science Foundation.

The Fourth Amendment became effective January 1, 2013

Historical Documents


Gemini Board

The Gemini Board sets budgetary policy bounds for the Observatory and carries out broad oversight functions as defined in the inter-agency Agreement. The Gemini Board has reserved the right to approve the appointments of the Gemini Director and Associate Directors for Gemini North and South.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Resolutions

Support

Dr. Michael Balogh (Chair)
University of Waterloo, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Phone: 519-888-4567, Ext. 37518 | Email: mbalogh@uwaterloo.ca

Dr. Sylvain Veilleux (Vice-Chair)
University of Maryland, Department of Astonomy
Phone: 301-405-0282 | E-mail: veilleux@astro.umd.edu

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (Executive Secretary)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Roberto Abraham
University of Toronto, Department of Astronomy
Phone: 416-946-7289 | Email: abraham@astro.utoronto.ca

Mr. Gonzalo Arenas 
CONICYT
Phone: 56-2-2365 4414 | Email: garenas@conicyt.cl

Dr. Edo Berger
Harvard University, Department of Astonomy
Phone: 617-495-7914 | Email: eberger@cfa.harvard.edu

Dr. Greg Fahlman
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0040 | Email: greg.fahlman@nrc.gc.ca

Dr. Mercedes Gomez
Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba
Phone: 54-351-433-063/64/65 ext. 114 | Email: mercedes@mail.oac.uncor.edu

Prof. Daniel Jaffe
Department of Astronomy, University of Texas-Austin
Phone: 512-471-3302 | Email: dtj@astro.as.utexas.edu

Prof. Robert McLaren
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawai`i
Phone: 808-956-8768 | Email: mclaren@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Imke de Pater
University of California at Berkeley, Astronomy Department
Phone: 510-642-1947 | Email: imke@astro.berkeley.edu

Dr. David Silva
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 520-318-8281 | Email: dsilva@noao.edu

Dr. Laerte Sodre
Departamento de Astronomia do IAG/USP, Universidade de Sao Paulo
Phone: 55-51-3091-2704 | Email: laerte@astro.iag.usp.br

Dr. James Ulvestad
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-7165 | E-mail: julvesta@nsf.gov

Prof. Stuart Wyithe
Astronomy Australia Ltd.
Phone: 61-3-9214-8036 | Email: stuart.wyithe@astronomyaustralia.org.au


Gemini Finance Committee

The Gemini Finance Committee is comprised of financial authorities from the various partner countries. The GFC advises the Gemini Board on financial, budget and long range plan issues for the Gemini Observatory.

Gemini Finance Committee Terms of Reference

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Dr. James Ulvestad (Chair)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-7165 | E-mail: julvesta@nsf.gov

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (ex-officio)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Bruno Castillo
Laboratorio Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8123 | Email: bruno@lna.br

Dr. Greg Fahlman
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0040 | Email: greg.fahlman@nrc.ca

Dr. Mercedes Gomez
Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba
Phone: 54-351-433-063/64/65 ext. 114 | Email: mercedes@mail.oac.uncor.edu

Prof. Stuart Wyithe
Astronomy Australia Ltd.
Phone: 61-3-9214-8036 | Email: stuart.wyithe@astronomyaustralia.org.au


Gemini Science and Technology Advisory Committee

The Science and Technology Advisory Committee advises the Gemini Board on policy matters of long-range scientific and technical importance.

Terms of reference and related documents

For related information prior to November 2011, please see the Gemini Science Committee meeting reports and documents.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Reports


Dr. Paul Martini (Chair)
Department of Astronomy, Ohio State University
Phone: 614-292-8632 | Email: martini@astronomy.ohio-state.edu

Prof. Jacob Bean
Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, University of Chicago
Phone: 773-702-9568 | Email: jbean@oddjob.uchicago.edu

Dr. Guillermo Bosch
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54-2214236593 | Email: guille@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Fabio Bresolin
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: 808-956-8306 | Email: bresolin@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Tim Davidge
Dominion Astrophysical Observatory
The Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0001 | Email: tim.davidge@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Donald Gavel
Lick Observatory, University of California, Santa Cruz
Phone: 831-459-5464| Email: gavel@ucolick.org

Dr. Paulina Lira
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Chile
Phone: 56-2-977-1138 | Email: plira@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Kevin Luhman
Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Penn State University
Phone: 814 863 4957 | Email: kluhman@astro.psu.edu

Dr. Sarah Martell
School of Physics, University of New South Wales 
Phone: 61-2-9385-6694 | Email: s.martell@unsw.edu.au

Dr. Thomas Matheson
NOAO
Phone: 520-318-8517 | Email: Matheson@noao.edu

Dr. Laura Parker
Department of  Physics and Astronomy, McMaster University
Phone: 905-525-9140 x 27348 Email: lparker@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Nathan Smith
University of Arizona, Steward Observatory
Phone: 520-626-5992 | Email: nathans@as.arizona.edu

Dr. Thaisa Storchi-Bergmann
Instituto de Fisica - UFRGS
Phone: 55 51 3308 6443 | E-mail: thaisa@ufrgs.br

Prof. Gillian Wilson
Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Riverside
Phone: 951-827 6274 | Email: gillianw@ucr.edu
 


AURA Oversight Council - Gemini

AURA Oversight Council-Gemini provides oversight and advocacy for the management of the Gemini Observatory.

*AOC-G Documents for Review (*password required)

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Dr. Jim Fanson (Chair)
Kepler Project, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Phone: 818-354-7014 | Email: james.l.fanson@jpl.nasa.gov

Prof. Beatriz Barbuy
Instituto de Astronomia, Geofisica e Ciencias Atmosfericas
Universidade de São Paulo
Phone: 55-11-3091-2810 | Email: barbuy@astro.iag.usp.br

Dr. Andrew Boden
Caltech Optical Observatories 
Phone: 626/395-4035 | Email: bode@astro.caltech.edu

Dr. Anita Cochran
McDonald Observatory
Phone: 512-471-1471| Email: anita@astro.as.utexas.edu

Prof. Laura Ferrarese
Physics and Astronomy Dept., University of Victoria
Phone: 250-363-8133 | Email: laura.ferrarese@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Douglas Geisler
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Concepcion
Phone: 56-41-2203092 | Email: dgeisler@astroudec.cl

Mr. Mark McAuley
Astronomy Australia Ltd.
Phone: 61-3-9214-8036 | Email: mark.mcauley@astronomyaustralia.org.au

Dr. William Smith (ex officio)
Association of Universities for Reasearch in Astronomy
Phone: 202-483-2101 | Email: wsmith@aura-astronomy.org

Dr. Mark Voit
Astronomy and Astrophysics, Michigan State University
Phone: 517-884-5619 | Email: voit@pa.msu.edu


Operations Working Group

The OWG advises the Gemini Director on the use and scheduling of the Gemini Telescopes, and on matters related to the support of users and to the interface between the national communities and the Observatory.

Meetings

As of February 2011, Operations Working Group meetings and agendas may be found on the OpsWiki.

Meetings prior to February 2011 (*password required)

Resolutions/Reports

As of February 2010, only resolutions will be posted.

Dr. Stuart Ryder (Chair) - Australia
Australian Astronomical Observatory
Phone: 61-2-9372-4843 | Email: ausgo@aao.gov.au

Dr. Sergio Cellone
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
Phone: 54-221-4236593 (ext: 157-39) | Email: scellone@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía - Chile
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: +56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Tim Davidge - Canada
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0047 | Email: Timothy.Davidge@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Roy Gal - United States
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: (808) 956-6235 | Email:rgal@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Eder Martioli - Brazil
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: (+55)-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Letizia Stanghellini - United States
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 502-318-8205 | Email: lstanghellini@noao.edu


Users' Committee for Gemini Observatory (UCG)

To provide feedback to the Gemini Observatory on all areas of its operations that affect current users of the facility, based on the experience of the committee members as well as input collected from the larger community of Gemini users. The Observatory will use this information to improve the service it provides to users.

Charter

Meetings (password required)

Reports

Mike Gladders (US) Chair
University of Chicago
gladders@oddjob.uchicago.edu

Vicky Alonso (AR)
Observatorio Astronómico de Córdoba
m.v.alonso@gmail.com

Mark Ammons (US)
Lawrence Livermore National Labs
ammons1@llnl.gov

Pauline Barmby (CA)
Univ. Western Ontario
pbarmby@uwo.ca

Franz Bauer (CL)
Pontifical Catholic University of Chile
fbauer@astro.puc.cl

Sarah Brough (AU)
Australian Astronomical Observatory
sb@aao.gov.au

Eduardo Cypriano (BR)
Universidade de São Paulo
cypriano@astro.iag.usp.br

Craig Heinke (CA)
University of Alberta
heinke@ualberta.ca

Mansi Kasliwal (US)
Carnegie Observatories
mansi@obs.carnegiescience.edu

Bo Reipurth (UH)
University of Hawaii
reipurth@ifa.hawaii.edu

Armin Rest (US)
Space Telescope Science Institute
arest@stsci.edu

Stuart Ryder (ex officio)
Gemini Operations Working Group Chair
ausgo@aao.gov.au


International Time Allocation Committee

The International Time Allocation Committee consists of representatives from the national time allocation committees, as well as the Observatory itself. The ITAC is chaired by a Gemini senior-level scientist. The recommendations of the ITAC are advisory to the Gemini Director. The ITAC meets twice a year to consider joint and conflicting proposals identified in the merging process, and to recommend the programs for execution in queue and classical modes.

Dr. Steve Margheim (Chair)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205694 | Email: smargheim@gemini.edu

Dr. Lindsay Magill (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205640 | Email: lmagill@gemini.edu

Dr. John Blakeslee
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0047 | Email: john.blakeslee@nrc.ca

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: 56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Favio Faifer - Argentina
Universidad Nacional de La Plate

Phone: 54-221-4236593 Email: favio@fcaglp.fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Dougal Mackey 
Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics 
Phone: 61-02 6125 0214 | Email: dougal.mackey@anu.edu.au

Dr. Eder Martioli
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Dara Norman
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 52-318-8361 | Email: dnorman@noao.edu

Dr. Richard Wainscoat
University of Hawai`i, Institute for Astronomy
Phone: 808-956-8429 | Email: rjw@ifa.hawaii.edu


Visiting Committee and NSF Reviews

Reports

Meetings (password required)


NSF Proposals

Proposals/Reports (password required)


Gemini Adaptive Optics Science Working Group

Meetings (password required)


Committee Meeting Schedule

Date Committee Location Committee Logistics Contact (Gemini)*
February 19 - 20, 2014 Operations Working Group Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 8-9, 2014 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Meeting Tucson, AZ Hosted by NOAO
May 12-13, 2014 AURA Oversight Council-Gemini Dallas, Texas  
May 13, 2014 Gemini Finance Committee Dallas, Texas  
May 14-16, 2014 Gemini Board Dallas, Texas  
May 22, 2014 International Time Allocation Committee Polycom  
August 18-19, 2014 User Committee-Gemini La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
August 20-21, 2014 Operations Working Group GoToMeeting  
October 29-30, 2014 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Meeting La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 3-4, 2014 AURA Oversight Council-Gemini La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 4, 2014 Gemini Finance Committee La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 5-7, 2014 Gemini Board La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
December 4, 2014 International Time Allocation Committee Zoom  
May 7-8, 2015 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 11-12, 2015 AURA Oversight Council-Gemini Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 12, 2015 Gemini Finance Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 13-15, 2015 Gemini Board Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
October 29-30, 2015 Science and Technology Advisory Committee La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 2-3, 2015 AURA Oversight Council-Gemini La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 3, 2015 Finance Committee La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 4-6, 2015 Gemini Board La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
* The Gemini contact person responsible for Gemini meeting logistics deals with coordinating local meeting room and office space, network support, local transport and support with accomodation and other related events.

Gemini Observatory Partners

Sitemap | Website Chilean Mirror