Gemini Committees: Membership and Meeting Documents

Governance Committees

Advisory Committees

Committee Meeting Schedule


Governance Documents

The Gemini International Agreement for the operation of the Gemini Observatory, 2016–2021

Operational Guidelines: Observatory strategy during the 2016-2021 International Agreement.
For the years beyond 2021, the Observatory is currently developing both a Strategic Vision and a Strategic Plan. The charge to the Strategic Vision Committee was approved in Board resolution 2015.B.10.

Historical Documents

Introductory material for Gemini Governance committee members

______________________________________________________________________________________

Committee Meeting Schedule

Date Committee Location Committee Logistics Contact (Gemini)*
February 17-18, 2016 Operations Working Grouop Zoom  
April 28, 2016 Gemini Finance Committee Bluejeans  
May 5-6, 2016 Science and Technology Advisory Committee Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 9-10, 2016 AURA Oversight Council - Gemini Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
May 11-13, 2016 Gemini Board Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
August 16-17, 2016 Users' Committee  Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
August 17-18, 2016 Operations Working Group Hilo, Hawaii Terry Lee 1-808-974-2524
November 10-11, 2016 Science and Technology Advisory Committee La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 15, 2016 Gemini Finance Committee La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
November 16-18, 2016 Gemini Board La Serena, Chile Lucia Medina 56-51-205-601
* The Gemini contact person responsible for Gemini meeting logistics deals with coordinating local meeting room and office space, network support, local transport and support with accomodation and other related events.

 


Gemini Board

The Gemini Board sets budgetary policy bounds for the Observatory and carries out broad oversight functions as defined in the inter-agency Agreement. The Gemini Board has reserved the right to approve the appointments of the Gemini Director and Associate Directors for Gemini North and South.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Resolutions

Support

Dr. Rene Walterbos (Chair)
New Mexico State University, Department of Astronomy
Phone: 575-646-5990 | Email: rwalterb@nmsu.edu

Dr. Sylvain Veilleux (Vice-Chair)
University of Maryland, Department of Astronomy
Phone: 301-405-0282 | E-mail: veilleux@astro.umd.edu

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (Executive Secretary)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Roberto Abraham
University of Toronto, Department of Astronomy
Phone: 416-946-7289 | Email: abraham@astro.utoronto.ca

Dr. Maria Victoria Alonso
University of Cordoba
Phone: 54-351-4331066 | E-mail: m.v.alonso@gmail.com

Dr. Imke de Pater
University of California at Berkeley, Astronomy Department
Phone: 510-642-1947 | Email: imke@astro.berkeley.edu

Dr. Greg Fahlman
NRC Herzberg
Phone: 250-363-0040 | Email: greg.fahlman@nrc.gc.ca

Dr. George Jacoby
GMTO Corporation
Phone: 520-904-4135 | Email: gjacoby@gmto.org

Prof. Robert McLaren
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawai`i
Phone: 808-956-8768 | Email: mclaren@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. David Silva
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 520-318-8281 | Email: dsilva@noao.edu

Dr. Thaisa Storchi-Bergmann 
Instituto de Fisica - UFRGS
Phone: 55 51 3308 6443 | E-mail: thaisa@ufrgs.br

Dr. James Ulvestad
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-7165 | E-mail: julvesta@nsf.gov

Dr. Lucianne Walkowicz
Adler Planetarium
Phone: 312-542-2412 | Email: lwalkowicz@adlerplanetarium.org


Gemini Finance Committee

The Gemini Finance Committee is comprised of financial authorities from the various partner countries. The GFC advises the Gemini Board on financial, budget and long range plan issues for the Gemini Observatory.

Gemini Finance Committee Terms of Reference

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Dr. Chris Davis (Chair)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: (703) 292-4910 | E-mail: chrdavis@nsf.gov

Ms. Elizabeth Pentecost (ex-officio)
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-4907 | Email: epenteco@nsf.gov

Dr. Maria Victoria Alonso
University of Cordoba
Phone: 54-351-4331066 | E-mail: m.v.alonso@gmail.com

Dr. Bruno Castillo
Laboratorio Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8123 | Email: bruno@lna.br

Dr. Greg Fahlman
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0040 | Email: greg.fahlman@nrc.ca

Dr. James Ulvestad 
Division of Astronomical Sciences, National Science Foundation
Phone: 703-292-7165 | E-mail: julvesta@nsf.gov


Gemini Science and Technology Advisory Committee

The Science and Technology Advisory Committee advises the Gemini Board on policy matters of long-range scientific and technical importance.

Terms of reference and related documents

For related information prior to November 2011, please see the Gemini Science Committee meeting reports and documents.

Meetings (Password Protected)

Reports


Dr. Paul Martini (Chair)
Department of Astronomy, Ohio State University
Phone: 614-292-8632 | Email: martini@astronomy.ohio-state.edu

Dr. Alberto Rodriguez Ardila
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica / MCT
Phone: 55-35-3629-8119 | Email: aardila@lna.br

Dr. Thomas Barnes
McDonald Observatory, University of Texas
Phone: 512-471-1301| Email: tgb@astro.as.utexas.edu

Prof. Jacob Bean
Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, University of Chicago
Phone: 773-702-9568 | Email: jbean@oddjob.uchicago.edu

Dr. Guillermo Bosch
Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Facultad de Ciencias Astronomicas y Geofisicas
Phone: 54-2214236593 | Email: guille@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar

Dr. Fabio Bresolin
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: 808-956-8306 | Email: bresolin@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Marc Buie
Southwest Research Institute
Phone: 720-240-0122 | Email: buie@boulder.swri.edu

Dr. Inese Ivans
Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Utah
Phone: 801-585-5483 | Email: iii@physics.utah.edu

Dr. Paulina Lira
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Chile
Phone: 56-2-977-1138 | Email: plira@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Laura Parker
Department of  Physics and Astronomy, McMaster University
Phone: 905-525-9140 x 27348 Email: lparker@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Abi Saha
National Opitical Astronomy Observatories
Phone: 520-318-8288 | Email: asaha@noao.edu

Dr. Eric Steinbring
The Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics, National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-3452 | Email: eric.steinbring@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Prof. Gillian Wilson
Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Riverside
Phone: 951-827 6274 | Email: gillianw@ucr.edu

______________________________________________________________________________________

NSF Program Officer

Dr. Chris Davis
National Science Foundation, Gemini Program Officer
Phone: (703) 292-4910 | E-mail: chrdavis@nsf.gov


AURA Oversight Council - Gemini

AURA Oversight Council-Gemini provides oversight and advocacy for the management of the Gemini Observatory.

*AOC-G Documents for Review (*password required)

*Meetings & Reports (*password required)

Prof. Laura Ferrarese (Chair)
Physics and Astronomy Dept., University of Victoria
Phone: 250-363-8133 | Email: laura.ferrarese@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Douglas Geisler (Vice-Chair)
Departamento de Astronomia, Universidad de Concepcion
Phone: 56-41-2203092 | Email: dgeisler@astroudec.cl

Prof. Beatriz Barbuy
Instituto de Astronomia, Geofisica e Ciencias Atmosfericas
Universidade de São Paulo
Phone: 55-11-3091-2810 | Email: barbuy@astro.iag.usp.br

Dr. Andrew Boden
Caltech Optical Observatories 
Phone: 626/395-4035 | Email: bode@astro.caltech.edu

Dr. Anita Cochran
McDonald Observatory
Phone: 512-471-1471| Email: anita@astro.as.utexas.edu

Prof. David Reitze
California Institute of Technology, LIGO Laboratory
Phone: 626-395-6274 | Email: reitze@ligo.caltech.edu

Mr. John Troeltzsch
Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. 
Email: jtroeltz@ball.com

Dr. Mark Voit
Astronomy and Astrophysics, Michigan State University
Phone: 517-884-5619 | Email: voit@pa.msu.edu

Dr. Matt Mountain (ex officio)
Association of Universities for Reasearch in Astronomy
Phone: 202-483-2101 | Email: mmountain@aura-astronomy.org


Operations Working Group

The OWG advises the Gemini Director on the use and scheduling of the Gemini Telescopes, and on matters related to the support of users and to the interface between the national communities and the Observatory.

Meetings

As of February 2011, Operations Working Group meetings and agendas may be found on the OpsWiki.

Meetings prior to February 2011 (*password required)

Resolutions/Reports

As of February 2010, only resolutions/recommendations will be posted.

Dr. Joanna Thomas-Osip (Chair)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205687 | Email: jthomas@gemini.edu

Dr. Lydia Cidale
Instituto de Astrofísica La Plata (CONICET-UNLP)
Phone: 54-221-4236593 | Email:  lydia@fcaglpunlpeduar

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía - Chile
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: +56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Stéphanie Côté - Canada
National Research Council of Canada
Phone: 250-363-0026 | Email: Stephanie.Cote@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Roy Gal - United States
Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
Phone: (808) 956-6235 | Email:rgal@ifa.hawaii.edu

Dr. Eder Martioli - Brazil
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: (+55)-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Verne Smith - United States
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 502-318-8453 | Email: vsmith@noao.edu


Users' Committee for Gemini Observatory (UCG)

To provide feedback to the Gemini Observatory on all areas of its operations that affect current users of the facility, based on the experience of the committee members as well as input collected from the larger community of Gemini users. The Observatory will use this information to improve the service it provides to users.

Charter

Meetings (password required)

Reports

Franz Bauer (CL) (Chair)
Pontifical Catholic University of Chile
fbauer@astro.puc.cl

Mark Ammons (US)
Lawrence Livermore National Labs
ammons1@llnl.gov

Lilia Bassino (AR)
Universidad Nacional de La Plata
liliaybass@gmail.com

Matthew Bayliss (US)
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
mbayliss@cfa.harvard.edu

Mark Brodwin (US)
University of Missouri, Kansas City 
brodwinm@umkc.edu

Harald Ebeling (UH)
University of Hawaii, Institute for Astronomy
ebeling@ifa.hawaii.edu

Thiago Signori Gonçalves (BR)
Observatorio do Valongo, UFRJ
tsg@astro.ufrj.br

J. J. Kavelaars (CA)
University of Victoria
jjk@uvic.ca

Lucyna Kedziora-Chudczer
University of New South Wales
lkedzior@unsw.edu.au

Tracy Webb (CA)
McGill University
webb@physics.mcgill.ca

Jessica Werk (US)
University of California, Santa Cruz
jwerk@ucolick.org

Verne Smith (ex-officio)
US NGO
vsmith@noao.edu


International Time Allocation Committee

The International Time Allocation Committee consists of representatives from the national time allocation committees, as well as the Observatory itself. The ITAC is chaired by a Gemini senior-level scientist. The recommendations of the ITAC are advisory to the Gemini Director. The ITAC meets twice a year to consider joint and conflicting proposals identified in the merging process, and to recommend the programs for execution in queue and classical modes.

Dr. Steve Margheim (Chair)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205694 | Email: smargheim@gemini.edu

Dr. Lindsay Magill (Technical Secretary)
Gemini Observatory
Phone: 56-51-2205640 | Email: lmagill@gemini.edu

Dr. John Blakeslee
National Research Council Canada
Phone: 250-363-0047 | Email: john.blakeslee@nrc.ca

Dr. Edgardo Costa
Programa de Astronomía
Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica de Chile (CONICYT)
Phone: 56 2 229 41 01 | Email: costa@das.uchile.cl

Dr. Gerardo Juan Manuel Luna
Instituto de Astronomia y Fisica del Espacio (Conicet-UBA)
Phone: 54-11-4789-0179 | Email: gjmluna@iafe.uba.ar

Dr. Eder Martioli
Laboratório Nacional de Astrofísica
Phone: 55-35-3629-8220 | Email: brgo-head@lna.br

Dr. Dara Norman
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Phone: 520-318-8361 | Email: dnorman@noao.edu

Dr. Richard Wainscoat
University of Hawai`i, Institute for Astronomy
Phone: 808-956-8429 | Email: rjw@ifa.hawaii.edu


Visiting Committee and NSF Reviews

Reports

Meetings (password required)


NSF Proposals

Proposals/Reports (password required)


Gemini Adaptive Optics Science Working Group

Meetings (password required)


 


Gemini Observatory Partners

Sitemap | Website Chilean Mirror