Change page style: 

Gemini Observatory Announces 2013 Board of Directors

January 3, 2013

The Gemini Observatory Board of Directors opens 2013 with new leadership and a number of membership changes. The changes reflect regular term expirations as well as the departure of the United Kingdom from the partnership and subsequent adjustments to partner shares.

The Board’s new Chair, Michael Balogh (University of Waterloo) replaces Larry Ramsey (Pennsylvania State University) who provided forward-looking leadership and sound management skills during the previous three years, a period of significant change and transition at Gemini. Balogh is joined by the newly appointed Vice Chair, Karl Gebhardt (University of Texas Austin). Together, Balogh and Gebhardt will lead the Board in guiding the Observatory through the next phase.

Following the UK departure, the board composition has readjusted to reflect the new partner shares. The two positions held by René Walterbos (New Mexico State University) and You-Hua Chu (University of Illinois), both reaching the end of their term, have been expanded to four new US members: Imke de Pater (UC Berkeley), Edo Berger (Harvard University), Sylvain Veilleux (University of Maryland), and David Silva (National Optical Astronomy Observatory, NOAO). Adding NOAO representation will enable closer coordination between Gemini and NOAO.

In addition, the Board welcomed in November Dr. Stuart Wyithe (University of Melbourne) as the new Australian Board representative, replacing Peter Quinn (University of Western Australia). Earlier in 2012, Kepler de Souza Oliveira (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul) was replaced by Laerte Sodre (Universidade de São Paulo). A soon-to-be-announced Canadian representative will replace Michael Balogh who, as Board Chair, becomes a non-voting member.

The remaining members continuing on their mandates in 2013 are: James Ulvestad (NSF), Greg Fahlman (National Research Council Canada), Mercedes Gomez (Observatorio Astronomico de Cordoba), Robert McLaren (Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawai`i), and Monica Rubio (Universidad de Chile).

The Gemini Observatory and the Board wish to deeply thank all the departing members for their service during the last critical years.

Finally, it is with considerable regret that the Observatory and Board acknowledge the departure of the UK as a Gemini partner. They express their collective gratitude to the most recent UK representatives Colin Vincent and Chris Conselice for their service and support of the Gemini Observatory. The UK has been a strong partner in Gemini and produced a remarkable legacy of scientific and technological results due to its diverse and creative community of scientist and engineers – the UK will be missed by the staff, management, and governing bodies of the Observatory.

The new Board composition together with the contact data of all members can be found on Gemini’s web pages:

Gemini Observatory Participants